July 31, 2015

Egg Farmers of Alberta Announce Recipients of New Entrant Quota

Congratulations to the 13 successful applicants who were chosen as recipients of quota through the Egg Farmers of Alberta’s (EFA) New Entrant Program (NEP).

Cherilee Day, Calmar

Harry & Elaine Makkinga, Ponoka

1875286 Alberta Ltd., Sherwood Park

South Shore Enterprise Ltd., Lacombe

Birch Hills Colony, Wanham

Peter Neudorf, Sexsmith

Brenton Goossen, Edberg

Rodney Friesen, Fort Vermillion

Koekoek Farms, Lethbridge

Brio Developments Inc., Lethbridge

Deanna Hiemstra o/a D2H Poultry, Lethbridge

Byslma Farms Inc., Cranford

Real Letourneau, Edmonton

“On behalf of the EFA Board, I would like to congratulate the successful applicants of EFA’s New Entrant Program,” says Susan Schafers, Chair of the EFA Board of Directors. “We are excited to welcome new producers into our industry.”

This is the second straight year that EFA has offered NEP quota by public application. The provincial egg industry welcomed seven new entrants in 2014, and two of them are already in production.

The review committee was comprised of John Hofer (EFA Director), Tom Sugimoto (EFA’s Legal Council), Susan Gal (EFA General Manager) and Christina Robinson (EFA Producer Services Manager). The committee identified 51 of qualified candidates, who were all included in the draw for the 13 available lots of quota.

“We are so excited to welcome new producers to the industry,” said Susan Gal, General Manager of EFA.

Egg Farmers of Alberta represents more than 160 egg farming families in Alberta. EFA works to ensure there is a sustainable egg industry for our farmers to operate in, while providing Albertans with a stable supply of fresh, high quality, locally produced eggs.

Download this story