March 8, 2018

EFA Celebrates 50th Anniversary

March 8, 2018 (Calgary, AB) – At the Annual General Meeting held on February 27, 2018 in Red Deer, Egg Farmers of Alberta (EFA) formally kicked-off a year-long celebration of our 50th anniversary.  Originally established in 1968, for the purpose of providing effective promotion, control and regulation of the marketing of eggs in Alberta, EFA continues to be the voice of more than 170 egg farming families across the province.

EFA marked the special occasion by debuting a new retrospective video, featuring a variety of egg industry stakeholders who looked back on the past 50 years, and the positive impact EFA has had on the egg industry in Alberta and across Canada.  The video can be found on EFA’s website, at

Egg Farmers of Alberta also held elections for two positions on the Board of Directors.  Peter Waldner was re-elected, and Bernadette Vandenborn was newly elected to the Board.  The EFA Board of Directors elected Beatrice Visser as both the Chair and Egg Farmers of Canada (EFC) Alternate, Susan Schafers as Vice Chair, and Joe Kleinsasser as EFC Director.  John Hofer also continues to serve as a Director.

2018 EFA Board of Directors

  • Beatrice Visser – Chair & EFC Alternate
  • Susan Schafers – Vice Chair
  • Joe Kleinsasser – EFC Director
  • John Hofer
  • Peter Waldner
  • Bernadette Vandenborn

Please join all of us at EFA as we congratulate our 2018 Board of Directors, and welcome Bernadette Vandenborn to the Board.  EFA would also like to thank outgoing Director, Byron Toews, for two years of dedicated and passionate service to Alberta’s egg industry.

Download this story.